Preview of the new Y6 design

I have flown the Okto for 1 year now and it is time for an upgrade. There are some nice frames on the market, but in the end, I decided to design my own.

About Jan Henning
I am a aerial photographer and product designer. I will use this blog to promote my own work, but also share useful information and interesting finds in the categories photography, cnc, air vehicles and other tech stuff.

6 Responses to Preview of the new Y6 design

  1. Daniele Avogadri says:

    Your frame is beautiful. It is essential and functional. I’d like to play in different materials, failing availability of carbon. If you give me your blessing I try to do it in aluminum.
    bye

    • Jan Henning says:

      Hi Daniele,

      Thank you for your kind words. Yes it is designed with low part count for easy maintenance, and it’s a very sturdy and ridgid frame construction. It is also very visible in the air.

      I think the most important thing to avoid problems with the MK electronics is to isolate them from the mechanical stresses of the center piece. Thats the reason for the stand alone platform for the electric components.

      Total weight with GH2 camera and 4S 4500 is 3000 grams. I use it every day at work and love it!

      Alu will be nice. Good luck with your build, and please report back with your progress ๐Ÿ™‚

      Jan

  2. Daniele Avogadri says:

    you have been kind enough to respond quickly. As you may have guessed i do not speak English well. I’m use google translate to write.
    Not knowing where to start, I wanted to ask if you can suggest the odds that you used for your frame.
    Also are good approximate measures.
    thank you very much
    Daniele

  3. Jan Henning says:

    Hi,

    The frame is made of 2mm carbon, and the arms and undercarriage is 25x50mm braided carbonfibre tubes. The motor to motor distance is 740mm.

    Jan

  4. Doug Corbett says:

    Are you selling any frames? If so, please let me know. There is so much junk out on the market and I have already been burned. I just want my next purchase to be dead on and your design seems to be perfect for me.

    • Jan Henning says:

      Hi Doug,

      I haven’t sold any of them yet. I think it’s a good design, and it works very well for still images, but I need to find a way to better dampen vibrations, before I eventually release it as a multi purpose platform. Two by one inch square carbon booms are not what you want for video ๐Ÿ™‚ But apart from that I am very pleased with it, and I will continue the research to find a better material, and a suited shape for the arms.

      Good luck with your APV business!

Leave a Reply

